Hampshire Treasures

Volume 5 ( New Forest)

Page 10 - Beaulieu

 Previous page (Volume 5, Page 9) Next page (Volume 5, Page 11)

Description and DateRemarksProtectionGrid Ref. and
Punchcard No.
Building
Chapel of St. Mary, Bucklers Hard. Said to have been a smugglers' den, a cobbler's shop, and a Dame's School, before being restored, with permission of 2nd Baron Montagu, by Lady Poole, 1921. Dedicated in 1935. Interesting interior.     N.P. Act
A.O.N.B.
SU 408 000
2201 66
Group E - Street Patterns, Street Furniture and Open Spaces
Village Layout
From Palace House Gate House to Bucklers Hard Fork. Village is unique in its setting.     C.A.
N.P. Act
A.O.N.B.
SZ 387 023
2201 44
Group F - Historical or Literary Associations
Iron Forge and Furnace (site)
South west of Sowley Cottages. Dates from circa 1820. The most important Hampshire ironworks of recent centuries were those of Sowley. Two large mills existed. Site of furnace is indicated by a patch of reddened earth, around which is a heavy concentration of furnace slag. Site of the forge is near the edge of a large hollow. Heavy concentration of forge cinder marks are evident. O.S.A. SZ39 NE7. Ref: V.C.H., Vol. 5, p.469.     N.P. Act
A.O.N.B.
SZ 378 966
2201 33
Brickworks
Baileys Hard. Main building, drying shed and kiln remain. Also some derelict machines and a clay pit. Ceased work in 1934. Made bricks, pipes and tiles. Barges brought in coal and took away bricks. Ref: A gazetteer of brick and tile works in Hampshire, (White), p.93.     N.P. Act
A.O.N.B.
SU 395 013
2201 85
 Previous page (Volume 5, Page 9) Next page (Volume 5, Page 11)