Hampshire Treasures

Volume 5 ( New Forest)

Page 79 - Denny Lodge

 Previous page (Volume 5, Page 77) Next page (Volume 5, Page 81)

The parish has no church, no school, no public hall but can boast of four public houses and a railway station. The parish is mainly heath, on which there are about ninety Bronze Age barrows. Here too is the Bishops Dyke, an earthwork thought to mark enclosed land owned by the Bishop of Winchester. There are two sites called "Church Place" which were probably mediaeval stock enclosures. Here too is the site of Saltpetre House - saltpetre being used for the tanning of leather. The railway passed through the parish in 1847. There is now a deer sanctuary at Denny.

Please use "Next page" to see Hampshire Treasures entries for Denny Lodge.

 Previous page (Volume 5, Page 77) Next page (Volume 5, Page 81)