New Chairman and Leader for Hampshire County Council

Hampshire County Council has elected a new Chairman and Leader at its Annual General Meeting held today (Thursday 23 May)

May 23 2024

Councillor Keith Mans has been elected as Chairman and Councillor Nick Adams-King has been elected as the new County Council Leader.

The County Council met to formally establish the new administration where Councillor Adams-King officially took up his new role, following a decision by Councillor Rob Humby to step down as Leader following two years in post.

Councillor Adams-King has been the Hampshire County Councillor for Romsey Rural since 2021, and a Member of the County Council's Cabinet since 2022 with key portfolio responsibility for Hampshire's universal services, including the county's network of highways which spans over 5,000 miles. A chartered surveyor by profession, Councillor Adams-King's career has also spanned the property and hospitality sectors. He was first elected as a Bournemouth Borough Councillor in 2005, a Test Valley Borough Councillor in 2015, and then the borough council's Deputy Leader from 2017 until earlier this year. He is married to James, a consultant at Southampton General Hospital specialising in geriatrics, they have two children and live in a village near Romsey.

Councillor Adams-King said: “I would like to pay tribute to former leader, Councillor Rob Humby and Deputy Leader, Councillor Roz Chadd, for steering the County Council through two intensely difficult years. Rob stands down knowing he has changed Hampshire County Council for the better. We owe him a huge vote of thanks, not just for his sacrifice and hard work of the last two years but for his many years of service to the people of Hampshire.

“Under my leadership, Hampshire County Council will continue to strive to be an efficient, caring, innovative, business friendly council. One that cares for our environment, tackles the challenge of climate change, and actively promotes the positive and necessary work we do to protect our most vulnerable Hampshire residents.

“I am blessed with an amazing team of colleagues who have a wealth of experience, knowledge and enthusiasm and it is an incredible honour to be chosen by them as their leader. Amongst these individuals there is no one more talented than Councillor Jan Warwick, whom I am delighted will be Deputy Leader of the Council.”

Councillor Keith Mans was elected to the position of Chairman, and outgoing Chairman, Councillor Patricia Stallard was thanked at the meeting for her tenure. In his role as Chairman, Councillor Mans is the civic head of the County. He will represent the County Council on Royal visits and ceremonial occasions in Hampshire as well as carry out other civic activities and duties. The Chairman presides over County Council meetings and ensures they are conducted in line with Standing Orders.

Councillor Mans was first elected to Hampshire County Council in 2009 and represents the Brockenhurst Division. He was the County Council Leader from 2019 to 2022, steering the Authority through the COVID crisis. Prior to this, he served the County Council as Deputy Leader and Lead Cabinet Member for Children's Services from 2013 to 2019. He was elected Vice Chairman of the County Council in May 2023.

Before being elected to Hampshire County Council, Councillor Mans was the MP for Wyre in Lancashire from 1987 to 1997 and whilst in Parliament he was PPS to the Secretary of State for Health as well as being a member of both the Defence and the Environment Select Committees. Previously, Councillor Mans was a RAF pilot and flew Vulcan and Canberra aircraft. He then spent ten years working for the John Lewis Partnership after leaving the RAF. Outside the Council, he is a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society, Vice President of the Air League and a Liveryman of the Honorary Company of Air Pilots.

Councillor Ann Briggs, the local Member for Waterloo & Stakes North, was elected Vice Chairman.

The full County Council Cabinet has been confirmed as follows:

  • Councillor Nick Adams-King – Leader and Executive Member for Hampshire 2050 and Corporate Services
  • Councillor Jan Warwick – Deputy Leader and Executive Member for Younger Adults and Health and Wellbeing
  • Councillor Liz Fairhurst – Executive Lead Member for Adult Social Care and Public Health
  • Councillor Zoe Huggins – Executive Member for Hampshire 2050 (Climate Change, Culture and Partnerships) and HR, Communications and Performance
  • Councillor Roz Chadd – Executive Lead Member for Children's Services
  • Councillor Steve Forster – Executive Member for Education
  • Councillor Kirsty North – Executive Lead Member for Universal Services
  • Councillor Lulu Bowerman – Executive Member for Highways and Waste
Councillor Nick Adams King
Leader of Hampshire County Council, Councillor Nick Adams-King

Hampshire County Council cabinet on the steps

Members of Hampshire County Council's Cabinet

Hampshire County Council Chairman and Vice Chairman standing together

Hampshire County Council Chairman, Councillor Keith Mans and Hampshire County Council Vice Chairman, Councillor Ann Briggs