Hampshire’s hard-working school and college staff honoured at Education Awards

Hampshire’s schools and college teachers, support staff, governors and dedicated volunteers were formally recognised recently (December 2020) at an awards ceremony with a difference

Dec 24 2020

The third annual Hampshire Education Awards ceremony was held virtually, due to the ongoing pandemic. But that didn’t stop the event being a huge success as excellence and achievement were celebrated.
Councillor Roz Chadd, Hampshire County Council’s Executive Member for Education and Skills, said:
“This has been a truly challenging year for our exceptionally hard-working teachers, support staff and volunteers. They have gone above and beyond to keep our schools and colleges going, in very testing and trying circumstances. These awards have showcased the fantastic dedication and talent across Hampshire’s family of schools and colleges.
 “This is a chance to say a very special thank you to all the award recipients who, along with their colleagues, have made a real difference, not only in helping grow our pupils, but in adapting, overcoming and coping with the additional pressures that COVID-19 has brought about.”
This year more than 35 teachers, support staff, and governors received awards, which were judged by headteachers and a college principal. Nominations were invited from all phases of education including early years, primary, secondary, all-through and post-16 (sixth form and vocational colleges).
Among the award recipients were:
• Laying the Foundations Award – Lisa Petty - Alver Valley Schools
• Apprentice Award – Helen Wood – Winklebury Foundation of Schools
• Apprentice Award – Mathew Clarke – Portway Junior School
• Apprentice Award – Gemma Tizzard - Crofton Anne Dale Federation of Schools
• Futures Award – Trudy McKenzie – Eastleigh College
• Wider Support Contribution Award – Deborah Birch – Leesland Church of England Infant School
• Wider Support Contribution Award – Louise Braybrook- Heatherside Junior School
• Wider Support Contribution Award – The Engineering Club – Ringwood Junior School
• Improving Life Chances Award – Elizabeth Bull – Newtown Church of England Primary School
• Improving Life Chances Award – Rosemary Scott – Smannell Field School
• Improving Life Chances Award – Lucy Poynter – Queen Mary’s College
• Improving Life Chances Award – Lynsey Spillane – Basingstoke College of Technology
• Teaching Support Award – Anita Haines – Froxfield Church of England Primary School
• Teaching Support Award – Brenda Bunyan – Whiteley Primary School
• Flying Colours Award – Abigail Martin – Newtown Church of England Primary School
• Flying Colours Award  - Megan Underwood – John Hanson Community School
• Flying Colours Award – Mike Marzetti – The Clere School
• Governance Award - Michael Anderton – Greatham Primary School
• Outstanding Contribution to Education Award – Michele Frost – The Federation of Liphook Infant and Junior Schools
• Education Leadership Award – Emma Howlett - Newtown Church of England Primary School
• Education Leadership Award – Ian Hickman – Appleshaw St Peter’s Church of England Primary School
• Teaching and Learning Award – Janet McCann – Forest Park School
• Teaching and Learning Award – Cheryl Wheeler – The Clere School
• Teaching and Learning Award – Katie Wandless – Newtown Church of England Primary School
• Community Impact Award – Jan Lefley – The Romsey School
• Community Impact Award – Susan Parish – The Romsey School
• Community Impact Award – Alix Christopher – Barton Peveril Sixth Form College