Hampshire’s top teachers and education professionals honoured with awards

It was a night of joy and triumph at Winchester’s Great Hall this month, as the second annual Hampshire Education Awards brought together the cream of the county’s school staff and volunteers to celebrate excellence and achievement

Oct 18 2019

Councillor Roz Chadd, Hampshire County Council’s Executive Member for Education and Skills, said:

“I am delighted to hear of the exceptional work of teachers, and support staff both in and out of the classroom, as well as the volunteers in Hampshire schools - supporting Hampshire pupils to grow into young people of whom we can all feel proud. They often go above and beyond to help children and young people overcome challenges, and this is an opportunity to say a very special thank you to every member of staff, governor and volunteer. The work of each and every one is important, appreciated and valued by your colleagues and Hampshire County Council.”

More than 50 teachers, support staff and governors were recognised in the awards, which were judged by teachers, headteachers and college principals. Nominations were invited from all phases of education including early years, primary, secondary, all-through and post-16, including alternative provision and special schools. The awards were open to Hampshire-maintained and academy schools, and for the first time this year, Hampshire’s post-16 colleges.

The awards and their recipients are:
Laying the Foundations Award: Ali Rowell (Redlands Primary School, Fareham);
Education Leadership Award: Krista Dawkins (Crestwood Community School, Eastleigh);
Teaching Support Award: Natalie Davies (Leesland Church of England Federation, Gosport);
Wider Support Contribution Award: Stefanie Stroud (Newtown Church of England Primary School, Gosport);
Outstanding Contribution to Education: Tim Jackson (Sparsholt College, Winchester);
Flying Colours Award: Tamara Goddard (Cornerstone Church of England Primary School, Fareham);
Apprentice Award: Sky Caves (Basingstoke College of Technology);
Teaching and Learning Award: Lindsey Lee (Kings’ School, Winchester);
Community Impact Award: Helen Porter (Anstey Junior School, Alton) and All Saints Church of England Junior School in Fleet for its Learning Through Friendship Project; 
Governance Award: Dr Mike Bateman (Havant & South Downs College);
Improving Life Chances Award: Linda Brick (The Hamble School);
Futures Award: Alistair Lambon (St Vincent College, Gosport).

Additionally, three new teachers received special congratulations, as Hampshire’s first teaching apprentices to gain Qualified Teacher status. Deb Lester (Toynbee School), Emma Downer (Fair Oak Junior School) and Natalie Rich (The Federation of Burlesdon Schools) all qualified in September 2019 and are now teaching their own classes.

There was also a Special Recognition Award presented in memory of Mike Taylor, who passed away earlier this year. Mike worked for Hampshire Education Personnel Services for 24 years but was also recognised for his broader support across the education system. He was also a governor at Aldworth School, Basingstoke and had volunteered in the Maths Department at Court Moor School, Fleet. 

Mike contributed to many facets of the education system, but will always be remembered as a committed, approachable, and knowledgeable man with huge integrity - simply passionate about positively changing lives and ensuring the best for children in Hampshire.