New Leader and Chairman for Hampshire County Council

May 17 2019

Councillor Keith Mans has been elected as the new County Council Leader and Councillor Charles Choudhary has been elected as Chairman.

The County Council met to formally establish the new administration where Councillor Mans officially took up his new role.  It follows the announcement by former Leader, Councillor Roy Perry, that he was stepping down from the role after six years.

Councillor Keith Mans is the Hampshire County Councillor for Brockenhurst and has served the County Council as Deputy Leader since 2013.  He was also the Executive Lead Member for Childrens’ Services.  Before being elected to Hampshire County Council, Councillor Mans was an MP for Wyre in Lancashire from 1987 – 1997. 

Councillor Charles Choudhary was elected to the position of Chairman, and outgoing Chairman, Councillor Elaine Still was thanked at the meeting for her past year’s tenure. In his role as Chairman, Councillor Choudhary is the civic head of the county.  He will represent the County Council on royal visits and ceremonial occasions in Hampshire as well as carry out other civic activities and duties.  The Chairman presides over County Council meetings and ensures they are conducted in line with Standing Orders and that they are a forum for debating issues. 

Councillor Choudhary was first elected to Hampshire County Council in 2013 to represent Aldershot North. At the meeting, Councillor Choudhary announced that his theme for his year as Chairman will be mental health and wellbeing. Councillor Mel Kendal, County Councillor for New Milton, was elected Vice Chairman.

The full Cabinet has been confirmed as follows:

Cllr Keith Mans, Leader and Executive Member for Policy and Resources
Cllr Rob Humby, Deputy Leader and Executive Member for Environment and Transport
Cllr Stephen Reid, Executive Member for Economic Development, Human Resources and Performance
Cllr Patricia Stallard, Executive Lead Member for Children's Services 
Cllr Roz Chadd, Executive Member for Education and Skills
Cllr Liz Fairhurst, Executive Member for Adult Social Care and Health
Cllr Judith Grajewski, Executive Member for Public Health 
Cllr Andrew Joy, Executive Member for Communities, Partnerships and External Affairs including Brexit
Cllr Edward Heron, Executive Member for Countryside and Rural Affairs
Cllr Seȧn Woodward, Executive Member for Recreation and Heritage