16. The Dissolution of the Monasteries in Hampshire

16. The Dissolution of the Monasteries in Hampshire
Hampshire Papers 16: The Dissolution of the Monasteries in Hampshire
by John Hare (1999)

This paper provides an account of the dramatic events which spelled the end of centuries of monasticism in Hampshire and created a new generation of Hampshire landowners.

A total of 15 Hampshire monasteries were dissolved between 1536 and 1539, including St Swithun's Priory in Winchester, the Cistercian houses of Netley and Beaulieu, houses of Augustinian canons at Southwick and Mottisfont, and the Premonstratensian abbey at Titchfield. Following the Dissolution the vast lands of these monasteries passed first to the Crown and then were sold to men prominent in national and local government. Leading royal ministers Sir William Paulet and Thomas Wriothesley built up large estates in the county, Paulet at Netley and Wriothesley at Titchfield, and local gentry such as John Mill and John Kingsmill also acquired lands.

The paper sheds light on the state of Hampshire monasteries on the eve of Dissolution, the process of Dissolution itself in the county, and the use of former monastic buildings. Some, for example Winchester Cathedral, Romsey Abbey and Christchurch Priory, continued as centres of worship. Others such as Beaulieu and Netley provided stone and lead for Henry VIII's coastal forts, but many became the country houses of the new county aristocracy, as at Titchfield where Wriothesley constructed a great gatehouse through the nave of the former monastic church.

Physical description 295mm x 210mm; softback; 28 pages.
Published in 1999 by Hampshire County Council.
Quantity in stock item(s) available
Price: £3.00
Quantity (79 available)