Meet the Authors: Girls' Night In - Thursday 6th June 2019

Meet the Authors: Girls' Night In - Thursday 6th June 2019

Meet the Authors: Girls' Night In

Thursday 6th June 2019

7.30pm

Winchester Discovery Centre 

Girls' Night In with authors Kate Hamer, Bev Thomas and introducing Angela Dyson. Following on from the well-loved 'Killer Girls' Night In' series of talks...
 
Kate Hamer is here to talk about her raw and powerful new novel 'Crushed'. Kate is author of the bestselling author of The Girl in the Red Coat, shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Prize, the British Book Industry Awards Debut Fiction Book of the Year.
Perfect for fans of The Virgin Suicides and Megan Abbott, 'Crushed' is the story of three girls who, over the course of one long hot summer, find their friendship pushed to a breaking point as one of them convinces herself that her thoughts can influence events in the world around them.
 
Bev Thomas presents A gripping and deeply intelligent psychological thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Lullaby. Exploring the choices and consequences for therapist Dr Ruth Hartland, the author reveals that the most dangerous lies are the ones we tell ourselves.
 
'Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama.' (Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of The Girl on the Train)
 
Dr Ruth Hartland rises to difficult tasks. She is the director of a highly respected trauma therapy unit. She is confident, capable and excellent at her job. Today she is preoccupied by her son Tom's disappearance.
So when a new patient arrives at the unit - a young man who looks shockingly like Tom - she is floored.
As a therapist, Ruth knows exactly what she should do in the best interests of her client, but as a mother she makes a very different choice - a decision that will have profound consequences.
 
Angela Dyson is a debut crime writer, and The Love Detective is the first in a series. It's light but in no way fluffy...or pink. It has a dark side and doesn't come with a side order of sprinkles. The Love Detective is for those that like their escapism with a little fizz. A little snap. A little edge.

Price: £6.00

SKU WDCMTA0619
Quantity in stock item(s) available
 
Ticket Option
How did you hear about the event?
Price: £6.00
Quantity (88 available)