Primary Behaviour Service

We support Hampshire primary schools with children who have social, emotional and mental health needs that result in challenging behaviour in school

About the Primary Behaviour Service

The Primary Behaviour Service primarily works with mainstream primary schools. The service supports children who do not currently have an Education, Health and Care Plan (EHCP) and who go to school in Hampshire. This includes children who live in a bordering local authority but attend a Hampshire primary school.

By providing early, targeted support through a child-centred approach, the service aims to:

  • remove barriers to learning
  • help children get the most from their education
  • reduce exclusion
Services for primary schools

A dedicated team of experienced practitioners, provide the following services and support to Hampshire primary schools:

  • assessment and identification of a pupil’s individual needs relating to behaviour and emotional wellbeing. This ensures that any early intervention and support is appropriate
  • hands-on advice and support for classroom staff and school leadership teams, for a wide range of behavioural, emotional and social development needs
  • support for parents/carers, including help with developing a positive home/school relationship, as well as direct work with parents/carers
  • training and development for school staff, including sharing of skills and best practice
  • play therapy
  • transition support between schools, key stages or during a move to/from specialist provision
  • access to six inreach centres, which offer part time provision to complement mainstream school placement. The centres offer a tailored curriculum designed for each pupil to ensure maximum inclusion at school
  • support to schools about crisis management and conflict resolution
  • support and advice to schools during assessment for Education, Health and Care Plans
  • supporting schools to meet the needs of children who are unable to attend school for medical reasons
  • Benefits
    • Children learn strategies that work for them, so that they can self-regulate their behaviour
    • Children have their individual needs met, helping them to develop their strengths, emotional resilience and independence
    • Children become better engaged with their learning and can access more of the curriculum
    • Staff in mainstream schools have increased understanding, confidence and knowledge, and are better equipped to work with challenging behaviour
    • Reduces the risk of school exclusion
    • Supports the positive relationships and partnership working between schools, families and children, resulting in a consistent approach to behaviour at home and school
    Referral

    Access to the Primary Behaviour Service is only available via a referral from a Hampshire primary school.

    If you are concerned about your child’s behaviour and/or emotional wellbeing, please speak to you child’s school in the first instance.

    Contact us

    Area Manager (West)

    New Forest, Test Valley, Basingstoke and Deane, Winchester and Eastleigh
    Jennie Hogan
    Email jennie.hogan@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 01962 876268

    Area Manager (East)

    Rushmoor, Hart & East Hants, Havant, Fareham and Gosport
    Sarah Cobb
    Email sarah.cobb@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 01962 876268

    Admin Officer
    Rachel Wood
    Email rachel.wood@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 01962 876268

    By post

    Primary Behaviour Service
    2nd floor, Elizabeth II Court North
    The Castle
    Winchester
    SO23 8UG

    Centres

    Basingstoke and Deane and North Test Valley

    By post

    The Harewood Centre
    Bolton Crescent
    Basingstoke
    RG22 6AZ

    Team Manager:
    Elissa Whitby Elissa.whitby@hants.gov.uk

    Admin Support:
    Debbie Usher Debbie.usher@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 01256 329206

    Fareham and Gosport

    By post

    The Lennox Centre
    Bridgemary Avenue
    Gosport
    PO13 0XT

    Team Manager:
    Dominic Spillane Dominic.spillane@hants.gov.uk

    Admin Support:
    Debbie Barron Debbie.barron@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 01329 286750

    Havant

    By post

    Robin’s Oak
    Mill Road
    Waterlooville
    PO7 7DB

    Team Manager:
    Daniel Spiers daniel.spiers@hants.gov.uk

    Admin Support:
    Jennifer Walton Jennifer.walton@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 02392 572676

    New Forest and South Test Valley

    By post

    The Clifford Centre
    Calmore Drive
    Calmore
    Southampton
    SO40 2ZX

    Team Manager:
    Lindsey Smith Lindsey.smith@hants.gov.uk

    Admin Support:
    Cheryl Calder Cheryl.calder@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 02380 661777

    Rushmoor, Hart and East Hants

    By post

    The Hive
    Alexandra Road
    Aldershot
    GU11 1QJ

    Team Manager:
    Nuala Hemphill nuala.hemphill@hants.gov.uk

    Admin Support:
    Shannon Murphy Shannon.murphy@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 01252 814888

    Winchester and Eastleigh

    By post

    The Keppel Centre
    Stoke Park Junior School
    Underwood Road
    Eastleigh
    SO50 6GR

    Team Manager:
    Jenny Turner Jenny.turner@hants.gov.uk

    Admin support:
    Claire Carswell Claire.carswell@hants.gov.uk
    Phone 02380 613152