A short history of Hannington
Hannington is recorded as a settlement in 899AD, and is listed in the Domesday Survey. It is a vibrant village community of 140 households. The Church, Village Hall, Michael’s Field children’s play area, The Vine pub, Hannington Country Fair, the Hannington Silver Band (founded in 1924) and wonderful countryside contribute to this unique place.
All Saints Church
People have worshipped here for over 1000 years. The sundial on the south wall used to help parishioners arrive on time to enter through the 12th Century doors. Inside are two fine window engravings by Laurence Whistler. The millennium tapestry shows how Hannington residents lived in 2000AD. The Squint allows the priest to see those in the south aisle.
Hannington is situated high in the North Wessex Downs - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). A network of public rights of way gives walkers and riders opportunities to explore and enjoy this beautiful landscape. Spectacular views extend south and west from For Down, and north and south from Michael’s Field.
During most seasons you can see skylarks, yellowhammers and many other wild birds. Fieldfares and redwings are regular visitors in winter. Wild flowers abound in the hedgerows and field margins. The bluebell woods are a delight in spring. There is evidence of a bronze-age barrow, a large Romano-British farmstead and a royal house used by Henry II at Tidgrove Warren Farm, west of the village.
- Temporarily closed
- Restricted use
Take the path to the right of the Church. Go through the picket gate and follow the path down to the next gate and onto For Down. Turn left at the junction with Wayfarer’s Walk.
Follow bridleway for ¾ mile to the T- junction turning left to North Oakley. Follow road past Manor Farm and turn left following footpath signs over a stile and across a paddock which might contain livestock.
Cross the double stile, along the footpath for ¼ mile and turn right across the field to the copse. Bear right through the copse to Summerdown Lane taking care when descending. Turn left, up hill past the Vine pub.
Historical note: From the top of For Down the site of Henry II’s Royal house may be seen on the hillside in front of you.